State Licensing Boards for Radiologic Technology


Please Note: The information contained on this page is provided for information purposes only and should not be considered legal advice, nor is it a substitute for the interpretation of regulations by the state authorities having jurisdiction over radiology licensing in your state. Please contact your state radiology board directly for official business.


State X-ray Licensing Requirements

Each state has its own requirements regarding limited licensing in x-ray. Some states require graduation from a limited licensure school that is located within the state where you live in order to be eligible for licensure.

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

 

Alabama

 

Alabama Department of Publuc Health, Office of Radiation Control
PO Box 30317
201 Monroe St.
Montgomery, AL 36130-3017
334-206-5391
http://www.adph.org

The state of Alabama does not have any licensure requirements for x-ray professionals.


   Alaska
Radiological Health Program, Section of State Laboratories
State of Alaska, Department of Health and Social Services
5455 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99507-2107
(907) 334-2107
Fax: (907) 334-2161

http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dph/labs/radiological/

Alaska recently passed legislation that governs training for radiologic technology. Individual facilities have their own standards which vary considerably around the state. For example, larger facitilities with JCAHO accreditation are not likely to hire anyone without ARRT certification. A small clinic may not have this requirement.

 


   Arizona
Arizona Radiation Regulatory Agency

Medical Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners
4814 South 40th St.,
Phoenix, AZ 85040

(602) 255-4845
http://www.arra.state.az.us/

Radiology Licensing in Arizona:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocity granted if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocity granted if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam: recipricol if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Mammography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocity granted if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Limited License x-ray (Practical Radiologic Technologist); can perform chest chest, extremities (upper & lower); no contrast media; bone densitometry; Must pass State board approved exam (ARRT). Limited licensure is granted by the board for State Practical Technologists who have completed a state approved course that provides 210 hours of academic curriculum and 480 hours of clinical training. Students must attend a limited license program in Arizona (no home study or online courses) in order to obtain a limited license in x-ray.

Scope of Practice Limitations:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform.


   Arkansas
Medical Ionizing Radiation Licensure Board

4815 W. Markham St. Slot 30
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867

(501) -661-2166
Fax 501-551-2236
http://www.healthyarkansas.com/rtl/index.html
valerie.brown@arkansas.gov

Radiology Licensing in Arkansas:
Reciprocity with Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Tennessee, Texas and West Virginia
- Radiology Assistant - State or ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam. RCIS exam for performance of cardiovascular procedures.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam.
- Nuclear Medicine - State, ARRT or NMTCB exam.
- Limited License X-ray - Can perform chest, spine, extremities, skull and sinuses. Under direct supervision of licensed practitioner; The state issues Limited Scope Certification to those who successfully pass the ARRT limited scope examination. Students interested in obtaining Limited Scope Certification are not required to attend a formal school before taking the ARRT examination. However, the state Board encourages student to take a course to prepare for the ARRT examination and recommends "Radiography Essentials for Limited Practice" 2nd edition, available through the Radiation Board office.
- Cardiovascular; State board approved exam; cardiovascular must be RCIS registered.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory six hours in one-year period.
- Limited License X-ray - Mandatory six hours in one year-period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory six hours in one-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory six hours in one-year period.
- Mammography - Mandatory six hours in one-year period.

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written that an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform.



   California
Department of Health Services
Radiological Health Branch, MS 7610
P.O. Box 997414
Sacramento, CA 95899-7414
(916) 327-5106
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Pages/RadiologicHealthBranch.aspx

Radiology Licensing in California:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB Exam.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT Exam.
- Fusion Imaging - State or ARRT Exam.
- Limited (X-ray Technician or XT) - Can perform chest, extremities, dental laboratory, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, bone densitometry, leg podiatric, skull, torso-skeletal categories; Limited permit applicants must have completed a course of study through an approved school in the state of California, as well as completion of a specific prescribed number of clinical exams (logs) at an approved clinical education site before they are eligible to take the state administered limited license exam.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory five hours in five-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Fusion Imaging - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Limited License x-ray - Mandatory 24 hours in two year-period; radiography & fluoroscopy supervisor and operator permit.
- Mammography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; 10 CE in mammography and perform 200 exams.
- Certified Supervisors and Operators (California licensed physicians and surgeons, podiatrists, or chiropractors) - 10 hours in a two-year period. 

Limitations of Practice:
-
Venipuncture - R.T. can perform under supervision of licensed physician and surgeon; upper extremity only.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - R.T. can perform under supervision of licensed physician and surgeon; upper extremity only.
- Fluoroscopy - Special fluoroscopy permit is required.

 


   Colorado
Colorado Department of Health & Environment
Radiation Control Program
4300 Cherry Creek Dr. South, B-2
Denver, CO 80246-1530
303-692-3441, F
ax 303-759-5355
http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/hm/rad/index.htm

Radiology Licensing in Colorado:
- Radiographers (RTs) are not state licensed. They only need to pass the ARRT exam.
- Mammography - Two-year licensing term.
- Limited License X-ray (non-certified technologists) - Can perform upper and lower extremities, spine, skull, chest, bone densitometry ; Must pass State or ARRT exam, reciprocal if taken and passed ARRT Limited Scope Exam in another state.  Noncertified technologists must be licensed to work outside of hospital settings. It is assumed hospitals only hire licensed personnel. For Limited licensure, individuals must demonstrate competency via satisfactory passage of a limited scope examination (75% or higher) administered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). Those wishing to obtain a limited scope license might consider preparing for the exam using the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.
- CT - ARRT CT registry.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT Exam.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- RT- Not mandatory
- Mammography - Not mandatory.
- Limited - Not mandatory.


   Connecticut
Department of Public Health
, Radiography Licensure
410 Capitol Ave., MS #12APP,
PO Box 340308

Hartford, CT 06134-0308
(860) 509-7603
http://www.dph.state.ct.us/licensure/licensure.htm

Radiology Licensing in Connecticut:
- Radiography - ARRT exam or endorsement by board; Licensed by Dept. of Public Health, Bureau of Health System Regulation.
- Radiation Therapy - ARRT, NMTCB exam or endorsement by board; ; Licensed by Dept. of Public Health, Bureau of Health System Regulation.
Limited License X-ray: Connecticut requires that anyone taking x-rays be certified through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT), which requires graduation from a 2-year school of radiologic technology. The state does not recognize limited licensure x-ray technologists.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Not Mandatory.
- Radiation Therapy - Not Mandatory. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Requires three years experience and training.
- Medications - Requires three years experience and training.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 


   Deleware
Delaware Department of Public Health, Office of Radiation Control

Jesse S Cooper Bldg.,
417 Federal St.
Dover, DE 19901
(302) 739-3787
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/regs.html

Radiology Licensing in Delaware:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if other state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Cardiovascular - State or CCI exam; reciprocal if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray - Can perform chest, extremities, skull, spine, podiatric, bone densitometry examscategories; must pass ARRT Limited Scope exam; reciprocal if original state's licensure standards are equivalent. Students interested in obtaining Limited Scope Certification are required to attend an approved course of study before taking the ARRT examination. Contact the Office of Radiation Control for a list of approved courses. Those wishing to obtain a limited scope license might consider preparing for the exam using the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Nuclear Medicine - Not mandatory. 
- Radiation Therapy - Not mandatory.
- Cardiovascular - Not mandatory.
- Limited - Not mandatory.

Limitations of Practice:
Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
Fluoroscopy - States in writing in the statute who can or cannot perform; May assist physician
.

 


   District of Columbia
Government of the District of Columbia,
Occupational & Professional Licensing

941 N. Capitol St. NE
Washington, DC 20001
202-442-9200 or 202-442-5888

The District of Columbia does not have any licensure requirements for x-ray professionals.


   Florida
Dept of Health Radiation Control
Kelly Nesmith, CE Coordinator
Bin #C21
4052 Bald Cypress Way,
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1741

850-245.4910
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/environment/radiation/radtech1.htm

Radiology Licensing in Florida:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam.; by endorsement/reciprocal license if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB Exam; by endorsement/ reciprocal license if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT Exam; by endorsement/reciprocal license if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Fusion Imaging - State or ARRT Exam; by endorsement/ reciprocal license if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Basic X-ray Machine Operator (BXMO or Limited Scope) - under direct supervision and control of licensed practitioner;must pass ARRT Limited Scope exam. At present, there is no minimum educational requirement to take the BMO certification examination. The Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services provides some study material upon initial application for the BMO certification examination. In addition, those wishing to obtain BMO certification might consider preparing for the state BMO exam using the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide. 
-
Podiatric BXMO also under direct supervision; Must pass  the ARRT Limited Scope exam.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period; Nine hours must be technical, only three hours can be personal development.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period.
- Fusion Imaging - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period.
- Limited (BXLMO) - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period.
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - radiologist assistant may perform fluroroscopy; BXLMO can perform only general fluoroscopy.

 


   Georgia
Georgia Secretary of State,
Professional Licensing Division
237 Coliseum Dr.
PO Box 13446
Macon, GA 31208

487-207-2440 or 404-657-5400
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/plb

The state of Georgia does not license the operators of x-ray equipment, nor does it have any requirements relative to the licensure or credentialing of x-ray machine operators.


   Guam
Guam Government Offices

102 M Street
Tiyan, Guam 96913, USA
671-475-0321
http://www.guam.gov


   Hawaii
Hawaii State Department of Health
Noise, Radiation and Indoor Air Quality Branch (NRIAQ)

591
Ala Moana Blvd. PO Box 3378
Honolulu, HI 96813-2498
(808) 586-4700
http://www.hawaii.gov/health/environmental/noise/index.html

Radiology Licensing in Hawaii:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprical if original states' licensing standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB Exam; reciprical if original states' licensing standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT Exam; reciprical if original states' licensing standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray: Hawaii requires that anyone taking x-rays be certified through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT), which requires graduation from a 2-year school of radiologic technology. Hawaii does not recognize limited licensure x-ray technologists

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.

 


   Idaho
Idaho Department of Labor

317 W. Main St.
Boise, ID 83735-6000
208-334-2235 x245
http://idaho.gov/business/licensing.html

The state of Idaho does not have any licensure requirements for x-ray professionals.


   Illinois
llinois Emergency Management Agency, Division of Nuclear Safety

1035 Outer Pk. Drive
Springfield, IL 62704
(217) 785-6982
http://www.state.il.us/idns/html/xray/registration.asp

Radiology Licensing in  Illinois:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam.
- Nuclear Medicine - State, ARRT, NMTCB or ASCP Exam.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT Exam.
- Chiropractic Radiography - State or ACRRT Exam.
- Limited License X-ray - The state grants limited radiography licensure to those who prepare for and pass the ARRT limited scope examination. Limited radiographers may, under the direction of a licensed practitioner, perform radiographic exams of one or more of the following: chest, extremities, skull/sinus, spine and bone densitometry. Students interested in obtaining Limited Scope Certification are not required to attend a formal school before taking the ARRT examination. Those wishing to obtain a limited scope license might consider preparing for the ARRT exam using the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.

Continuing Education Required:
- Radiography - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; See regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Limited - Mandatory 6 hours in a one-year period; radiography and fluoroscopy supervisor and operator permit; See regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; See regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; See regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Chiropractic Radiography - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; See regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Mammography - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; See regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.


   Indiana
Indiana State Department of Health, Radiologic Health

1330 W. Michigan St., PO Box 1964
Indianapolis, IN 46206
317-233-7565
http://www.in.gov/isdh/23279.htm

Radiology Licensing in Indiana:
- Radiography - ARRT exam
- Nuclear Medicine - ARRT or NMTCB exam. See also 410 IAC 5.2-8-1 et. seq.
- Radiation Therapy - ARRT exam.
-
Limited License X-ray - Can perform chest, chiropractic, dental, limited, general without use of contrast media, podiatry (foot, ankle, lower leg below knee); The state grants limited certification to those who prepare for and pass the ARRT limited scope examination. Students must attend a state approved limited license program in Indiana in order to be eligible to take the limited scope exam and obtain a limited scope license.
Students - Must apply for a student permit while enrolled in a program.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Limited - Not mandatory.
- Nuclear Medicine - Not mandatory.
- Radiation Therapy - Not mandatory.
 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - R.T. can perform under supervision of licensed physician and surgeon. Cannot be performed by limited x-ray machine operators.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; there is a regulatory reference of R.T.s performing fluoroscopy. 

 


   Iowa
Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Radiological Health

Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th floor, 321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
(515) 725-0306
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/eh/radiological_health.asp

Radiology Licensing in Iowa:
- Radiography - The state also has general and limited in-hospital diagnostic radiographers; State, ARRT or American Registry of Clinical Radiogrphy Technologists exam; recipricol if original state's licensure standards are adequate.
- Limited License X-ray - The state also has general and limited in-hospital diagnostic radiographers; can perform chest, extremities (upper and lower), spine or sinus; ARRT exam. Limited Radiographers must complete a state approved 100 hour training course and pass the ARRT limited radiography examination. Contact the Bureau of Radiological Health for a list of state approved courses.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; recipricol if original state's licensure standards are adequate.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; Recipricol if original state's licensure standards are adequate.
- Radiology Assistant - State or ARRT exam.
- Fusion Imaging - State or ARRT exam.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiology Assistant - Mandatory 12 hours in one-year period.
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; There are additional CE requirements for post-primary areas.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory six hours in two-year period; See regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory six hours in two-year period; See see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Limited - Mandatory 12 hours in tw-year period; See regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nuclear Medicine Technologists can perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - General and limited in-hospital must pass exam in fluoro techniques.
- Fluoroscopy - General and limited in-hospital must pass exam in fluoro techniques.


   Kansas
Kansas Dept. of Health & Environment, Bureau of Air & Radiation

Curtis State Office Building
1000 S.W. Jackson

Topeka, KS 66612
785-296-1500, 888-886-7205
http://www.kdheks.gov/radiation/staff.html

Radiology Licensing in Kansas:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original states' standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original states' standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original states' standards are equivalent.
Limited License X-ray: The state issues licensure to radiographers who complete a state approved limited license training course. Contact the Bureau of Air and Radiation for a list of approved programs.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; there are regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 12 hours in a one-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.

 


   Kentucky
Department of Health Services, Radiation Control Branch

275 East Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40621
(502) 564-3700
http://www.chfs.ky.gov/dph/radiation/

The Radiation Control Branch of Kentucky issues three categories of x-ray licensure: (1) General certification (graduates from a two-year school of radiologic technology), (2) Temporary certificate (individuals who have completed a school of radiologic technology and are awaiting ARRT examination) and (3) Limited Certification. Those individuals holding limited certification cannot be employed in a facility which utilizes contrast media. Students interested in obtaining limited certification must complete a limited radiography program that is approved by the state or an independent study course available from the Radiation Control Branch.

Radiology Licensing in Kentucky:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam, or if program approved by health cabinet.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or ARRT exam, or if program approved by health cabinet.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam, or if program approved by health cabinet.
- Limited License X-ray - Cannot be employed at any facilities that use contrast media; must attend a state approved program or independent study program.

Continuing Education Requirements:
Radiologist Assistant - 50 hours in a two year period.
Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two year period; there are specific regulations for CE courses.
Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two year period; specific regulations for CE courses.
Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two year period; specific CE course requirements.
Limited - Mandatory 12 hours in two year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - General Certification required.
- Fluoroscopy - Performed by technologists under the direction of a radiologist and be exclusively for localization to obtain images for interpretation. 

 


   Louisiana
Louisiana State Radiologic Technology, Board of Examiners

3108 Cleary Ave. Suite 207
Metairie, LA 70002
(504) 838-5231
http://www.lsrtbe.org

Louisiana Board of Medical Examiners
630 Camp St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
504-568-6820
http://www.lsbme.louisiana.gov

Radiology Licensing in Louisiana:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original states' standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original states' standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State, ARRT or ASCP exam; reciprocal if original states' standards are equivalent.
- Fusion Imaging - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original states' standards are equivalent.
- Limited License in X-ray: In Louisiana, you must either be licensed by the Louisiana State Technologist Board of Examiners (LSRTBE), or you may meet the qualifications for certification as a "Private Radiologic Technologist" as issued by the Louisiana Board of Medical Examiners.(BME). The BME only has jurisdiction over persons employed by licensed physicians in that physician's own private office. The LSRTBE has jurisdiction everywhere else. If you are licensed by the LSRTBE, you are exempt from the BME requirements and visa versa.

Continuing Education Requirements:
Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
Fusion Imaging - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.

 


   Maine
Office of Licensing and Registration
Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners

State House Station #35
Augusta, ME 04333-0035
(207) 624-8623
http://www.state.me.us/pfr/professionallicensing/index.shtml

Radiology Licensing in Maine:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; recipricol if original state's standards are equivalent and possesses national certification.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; special NMT permit for radiographer undergoing NMT training; recipricol if original state's standards are equivalent and possesses national certification.
- Radiation Therapy - State, or ARRT exam; recipricol if original state's standards are equivalent and possesses national certification.
- Limited License X-ray - A Limited radiographer is a person other than a licensed practitioner who applies x-radiation to specific parts of the human body for diagnostic purposes while under the supervision of a licensed practitioner. The individual must complete a state approved course prior to taking the State examination. May practice in spine, chest, extrmity, skull, and/or podiatry. No more than two categories shall be held by any limited license holder. Fluoroscopy is not permitted for limited permit holders. Only allowed to work in office of licensed practitioner or clinic. No contast material, bedside fluoroscopic, computed tomographic or mamographic equip., or absorbtiometry; recipricol if original state's standards are equivalent and possesses national certification. The Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners of Maine has approved the Glacier Valley Radiology Study Guide as approved curriculum for those seeking to obtain limited licensure in the State of Maine. While the Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners endorses this course, it does not require that limited license trainees utilize this Radiology Study Guide.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period. There are specific regulations for CE courses.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period. There are specific regulations for CE.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period. See regulations for specific requirements.
- Limited - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period. See regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform.


 


   Maryland
Maryland Board of Physicians
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

4201
Patterson Ave., PO Box 2571
Baltimore, MD 21215-0095
(410) 764-4777  800-492-6836 x4764
http://www.dhmh.state.md.us

Radiology Licensing in Maryland:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; may only practice under supervision of physician.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; may only practice under supervision of physician.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; may only practice under supervision of physician.
- Fusion Imaging - State or ARRT exam; may only practice under supervision of physician.
- Limited License X-ray: Maryland requires that anyone taking x-rays be certified through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT), which requires graduation from a 2-year school of radiologic technology. Maryland does not recognize limited licensure x-ray technologists. 

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory 50 hours in a two-year period.
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period.
- Fusion Imaging - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - may perform as listed in scope of practice and is ARRT registered.
- Medications - may perform as listed in scope of practice and is ARRT registered.
- Contrast Media - may perform as listed iny scope of practice and is ARRT registered.
- Fluoroscopy - may perform as listed in scope of practice and is ARRT registered.

 


   Massachusetts
Radiation Control Program- RT Licensing

Schraff Center- Suite 1M2A
529 Main St. Charleston, MA 02129

(617) 427-2944
http://www.mass.gov/dph/rcp

Radiology Licensing in Massachusetts:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam.

- Limited License X-ray - Massachusetts requires that anyone taking x-rays be certified through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT), which requires graduation from a 2-year school of radiologic technology. The state does not recognize limited licensure x-ray technologists.

Continuing Education Requirements:
-
Radiography - Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; There are specific regulations for CE courses.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; specific regulations for CE courses.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; specific regulations for CE courses

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - May perform as listed by scope of practice & are ARRT registered. 

 


   Michigan
Bureau of Health Professions
PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909-8170
517-241-1989
http://www.michigan.gov/mdch

Radiology Licensing in Michigan:
- The state of Michigan does not license the operators of x-ray equipment, nor does it have any requirements relative to the licensure or credentialing of x-ray machine operators.
- Mammography - ARRT exam or meet standards for issuance of a registration certificate as a radiology technologist from American Registry of Clinical Radiography Technologist.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiographer - No requirements.
- Mammography - Mandatory 15 hours in three years. See regulations for additional specific CE requirements.


   Minnesota
Minnesota Dept. of Health, Radiation Control

625 Robert St. North
PO Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 642-0492
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/eh/radiation/xray/index.html

Radiology Licensing in Minnesota:
- Radiographer - State, ARRT or ACRRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- The State of Minnesota now requires a Limited Scope (ARRT) exam for its limited radiographers as of Jan. 1, 2008. Limited x-ray operators (LXMO) who were already practicing prior to January 1, 2008 are grandfathered in. Those wishing to become more familiar with the fundamentals of radiology and prepare for the state exam might consider the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.
- Fusion Imaging - No renewal required; specific credentialing requirements for fusion imaging of ARRT or NMTCB to operate the stand-alone nuclear medicine unit or to operate in the dual mode if the operator has training in CT.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period.
- Fusion Imaging - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period for the nuclear medicine portion. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - LXMOs specifically prohibited from operating. Therefore, can only be performed by registered Radiologic Technologists or by those professionals exempt from the licensure laws.

 


   Mississippi
Mississippi Department of Health, Professional Licensure

PO Box 1700,
Jackson, MS 39215-1700
(601) 576-7260
http://www.msdh.state.ms.us/msdhsite/_static/30,0,82.html

Radiology Licensing in Mississippi:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam; licensed through the Mississippi Medical Board.
- Radiography (X-ray Operator) - ARRT exam; licensed through the Dept. of Health. Mississippi requires that anyone taking x-rays be certified through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT), which requires graduation from a 2-year school of radiologic technology. Mississippi does not recognize limited licensure x-ray technologists.
- Nuclear Medicine - ARRT or NMTCB exam; licensed through the Dept. of Health.
- Radiation Therapy - ARRT exam; licensed through the Dept. of Health.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period.
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; therer are specific regulations for CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period;specific regulations for CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; specific regulations for CE course requirements.

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 


   Missouri
Missouri Department of Health

PO Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-751-6083

The state of Missouri does not license the operators of x-ray equipment, nor does it have any requirements relative to the licensure or credentialing of x-ray machine operators.


   Montana
Montana Board of Radiologic Technologists

301 South Park, 4th Floor, PO Box 200513
Helena, MT 59620-0513
(406) 841-2385 fax (406) 841-2305
http://mt.gov/dli/bsd/license/bsd_boards/rts_board/board_page.asp

Radiology Licensing in Montana:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - state or ARRTexam.
- Limited License X-ray (Radiologic Technologist Limited Licensure). - In January 2010, the state approved a rule change requiring all limited permit applicants to complete 104 hours of classroom AND hands-on clinical practice prior to sitting for the Montana exam; can perform chest, extremities, spine, skull/sinuses (except internal auditory canal and mastoid series), abdomen, GI tract and bone densitometry exams. Currently, District 6 Health Care Learning Center in Billings offers the only state approved limited licensure program, entitled Basic X-ray Techniques. T406-248-7102. Their website is http://www.d6hclc.org/

Continuing Education Required:
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory six hours and ARRT CE requirement.
- Radiography - Not mandatory; only need proof of current ARRT certification.
- Limited - Mandatory six hours in a one-year period. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venupuncture - can only be performed by registered Radiologic Technologists.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - can only be performed by registered Radiologic Technologists.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.

 


   Nebraska
Professional & Occupational Licensure Division

301 Centennial Mall South, PO Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509
(402) 471-4915
http://www.hhs.state.ne.us/rad/radindex.htm

Radiology Licensing in Nebraska:
- Radiography (Medical Radiographer) - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray - Must pass the ARRT Limited Scope exam; can perform chest, extremities, skull/sinuses, spine, ankle/foot and abdomen exams. Students interested in becoming a Limited Radiographer are not required to attend a formal school before taking the State licensure examination, but they must pass the ARRT limited scope examination with a score of 75% or more. The State Radiology Board of Nebraska encourages students to take a course to prepare for the examination. Those wishing to obtain a limited scope license might consider preparing for the exam using the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.
F
usion Imaging - ARRT CT certification and Nuclear Medicine Certification from either ARRT or NMTCB.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; there are specific regulations for CE course requirements.
- Limited - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statue that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - cannot be performed by Medical Radiographer or Limited Radiographer.
- Fluoroscopy - cannot be performed by Limited Radiographer.

 


   Nevada
State of Nevada - Occupational and Professional Licensing
775-687-5394
http://health.nv.gov

Radiology Licensing in Nevada:
- The state of Nevada does not register or license medical x-ray machine operators, except mammography technologists.
- Mammography - Must pass ARRT Mammography exam; It is up to the owner/controller/user (machine registrant) to ensure training commensurate with the machines of interest. 

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiographers - No requirements
- Mammography - Mandatory 15 hours in three-year period; There are specific regulations for CE course requirements.

 


   New Hampshire
New Hampshire Department of Health & Human Services, Radiological Health

29 Hazen Dr.
Concord, NH 03301-4604
603-271-4588
http://dhhs.nh.state.nh.us

The state of New Hampshire does not license the operators of x-ray equipment, nor does it have any requirements relative to the licensure or credentialing of x-ray machine operators.


   New Jersey
Bureau of Radiologic Health

PO Box 415
Trenton, NJ 08625
(609) 984-5890
http://www.state.nj.us/dep/rpp/brh

Radiology Licensing in New Jersey:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray - Limited permit aspirants are required to submit a course completion certificate from a state approved school before they can take the state licensure examination (ARRT Limitred Scope Exam). Contact the Bureau of Radiologic Health for a list of state approved courses. Can perform chest, othopedic, podiatric, urologic exams but not barium or bone densitometry exams.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Nuclear Medicine - Not mandatory.
- Radiation Therapy - Not mandatory.
- Limited - Not mandatory. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - can only be performed by licensed Radiologic Technologists.
- Medications - State regulation states in writing who can and cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - can only be performed by licensed Radiologic Technologists.
- Fluoroscopy - State regulation states in writing who can and cannot perform
.

 


   New Mexico
Radiologic Technologist Program

PO Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110
(505) 476-3264
http://www.nmenv.state.nm.us/nmrcb/radtech.html

Radiology Licensing in New Mexico:
- Radiologist Assistant; State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiography; State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine; State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy; State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Fusion Imaging; State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray (Limited Radiologic Practitioners or Limited X-ray Machine Operator); Must attend a State board approved training/experience/exam or pass the ARRT Limited Scope exam; Can practice in podiatry, othopedic, thorax, skeletal or dental categories. To obtain a certificate, the student must attend a state approved course. Contact the Radiologic Technologist Program for a list of approved courses.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiologist Assistant Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; there are  specific regulations for CE.
- Radiography Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; see regulations for CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; see regulations for CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; see regulations for CE requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; see regulations for CE course requirements.
- Limited Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Contrast Media - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Fluoroscopy - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.

 


   New York
NYS Department of Health, Bureau of Enviornmental Radiation Proection

547 River St. Room 530
Troy, NY 12180-2216
518-402-7580
http://www.health.state.ny.us/professionals/doctors/radiological

Radiology Licensing in New York:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent; Armed Forces provisions if passed ARRT exam.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiology Assistant - RA licensed as a "Specialist Assistant"; State or ARRT exam.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Mammography - Mandatory 15 continuing education units in mammography during the 36 months immediately preceding the date of the facility's annual MQSA inspection, or the last day of the calendar quarter preceding the inspection or any date in between the two

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Special permit ris equired from the state Department of Health.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - R.T. may administer contrast with additional certification by the Department.
- Fluoroscopy - States in writing in the statute who can and cannot perform. 

 


   North Carolina
NC Department of Commerce, Boards & Commissions, Occupational Boards

301 North Wilmington St.
Raleigh, NC 27601
919-571-4141
http://www.nccommerce.com

The state of North Carolina does not license the operators of x-ray equipment, nor does it have any requirements relative to the licensure or credentialing of x-ray machine operators.


   North Dakota
State of North Dakota

Office of the Governer
600 East Boulevard Dept 101
Bismark, ND 58505-0001
701-328-5188
http://www.health.state.nd.us

Radiology Licensing in North Dakota:
- Radiography (General Diagnostic Operator) - Must pass State, ARRT or ACRRT exam.
- Limited License X-ray (Limited Diagnostic Operator) - No exam required- only a passing grade/ course completion; can perform chest, ribs, abdomen, podiatry, skull/sinuses, extremities, and/or spine.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Limited License - Not mandatory.
 

 


   Ohio
Ohio Department of Health, Radiologic Technology Section

246 N. High St. PO Box 118
Columbus, OH 43266-0118
(614) 752-5378
http://www.odh.ohio.gov/contactus.aspx 

Radiology Licensing in Ohio:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography (Radiographer) - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Fusion Imaging - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray (General X-ray Machine Operator ) - Can perform under direct supervisor of licensed pratitioner within scope of practitioner's practice. The minimum requirement for any individual performing x-ray procedures in the state of Ohio is that the individual be licensed as a general x-ray machine operator. In order to obtain a license as a general x-ray machine operator, the applicant must attend an educational program accredited by the Ohio Department of Health. After completion of the approved program, the applicant must pass the state license examination. Contact the Department of Health for a list of approved courses.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 50 hours in a two-year period; there are specific regulations for CE courses.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific requirements.
- Fusion Imaging - Mandatory 24 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific CE requirements.
- Limited License - Mandatory 6 hours in a two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - States in writing in the statute who can and cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - States in writing in the statute who can and cannot perform
.

 


   Oklahoma
Oklahoma Board of Medical Licensure & Supervision

5104 N. Francis, Suite C
PO Box 18256
Oklahoma City, OK 73118-6020
405-271-5243
http://www.ok.gov

Radiology Licensing in Oklahoma
- Radiographer - The state of Oklahoma does not license the operators of x-ray equipment, nor does it have any requirements relative to the licensure or credentialing of x-ray machine operators.
- Radiologist Assistant - Must pass the ARRT exam.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiographer - No requirements.
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory 50 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.

 


   Oregon
Board of Radiologic Technology

State Office Bldg., Suite 1160A
800 NE Oregon St.
Portland, OR 97232
(503)-731-4088
http://www.obrt.state.or.us

Radiology Licensing in Oregon:
- Radiologist Assistant - State or ARRT exam; able to peform fluoroscopy.
- Radiography - State exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Fusion Imaging - State exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray - Can perform head, spine, chest & ribs, upper extremities, foot & ankle, bone densitometry. The state issues limited permits in radiography. Limited permit aspirants are required to submit a course completion certificate from a state approved school before they can take the Oregon State examination. Contact the Board for a list of approved programs.

Continuing Education Required:
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific  requirements.
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Limited License- Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - can only be performed by Radiologist Assistant.

 


   Pennsylvania
Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs
- State Board of Medicine
PO Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
(717) 783-5919
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/bpoa/cwp/view.asp?a=1104&q=432792

Radiology Licensing in Pennsylvania:
- Radiography - ARRT exam; State license needed if working in M.D. office only.
- Nuclear Medicine - ARRT exam; State license needed if working in M.D. office only.
- Radiation Therapy - ARRT exam; State license needed if working in M.D. office only.
- Limited License X-ray- ARRT Limited Scope exam; can perform thorax & extremities, skull & sinus categories.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Nuclear Medicine - Not mandatory.
- Radiation Therapy - Not mandatory.
- Nuclear Medicine - Not mandatory.
- Limited License - Not mandatory
.

 


   Rhode Island
R.I. Department of Health- Office of Professionals Regulations

3 Capitol Hill Room 104
Providence, RI 02908
401-222-2827
http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/rad_tech.php

Radiology Licensing in Rhode Island:
- Radiography - ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray- must work 500 hours during three consecutive years; general radiography only under direct supervision of a licensed practitioner
.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Limited - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 


   South Carolina
South Carolina Radiation Quality Standards Association
(SCRQSA)
PO Box 7515
1122 Lady Street, Suite 1115

Columbia, SC 29202
803-771-6141
http://www.scrqsa.org/

Radiology Licensing in South Carolina:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam.
- Cardiac Invasive Specialist - RCIS exam.
- Limited Chiropractic, Limited General, Limited Bone Densitometry - State board approved or ISCD exam; can perform general, chiropractic, bone densitometry categories.
- Limited Podiatric/Chest - ARRT exam; can perform chest, podiatric categories.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Cardiac Invasive Specialist - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Limited Chiropractic, Limited General, or Limited Bone Densitometry - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Limited Podiatric/Chest - Mandatory six hours in two-year period. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 


   South Dakota
South Dakota Board of Health
600 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-2536
605-773-6141
http://www.state.sd.us/doh/Boards/index.htm

There is no licensing requirement in South Dakota for those performing x-ray procedures. At a minimum, any person who has 24 hours of orientation and training in the operation of radiation producing equipment by a qualified instructor may operate any radiation producing device. Dental radiographers must have a minimum of 16 hours of training.
Those wishing to become more familiar with the fundamentals of radiology might consider the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.

 


   Tennessee
Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners

Cordell Hull Bldg. 3rd floor
Nashville, TN 37247-1010
615-741-3111 or 800-778-4123
http://health.state.tn.us/Boards/ME

Radiology Licensing in Tennessee:
- Radiologist Assistant - State or ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; recipricol if original state's licensure standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam.
- Limited License X-ray - The state issues limited certification in x-ray. The holder of a limited permit is enabled to perform only those radiological procedures or functions intended for the body areas indicated on the issued certification, other than those procedures involving the administration of contrast media. Limited certification is available in the following areas: Chest, Extremities, Skull (AP & lateral only), sinuses, and lumbar spine (AP & lateral only). The individual must submit verification of attendance and successful completion of a state Board approved radiological certification training course for the type of certification sought pursuant to Rule 0880-50.05(2) and successfully complete the Board approved examination. Contact your state board for a list of approved programs.
-
NOTE: Personnel (except for RAs) must be state licensed only if they work outside of a hospital.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period.
- Limited - Mandatory 20 hours in two-year period.
 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 


   Texas
Texas Dept. of State Health Services, Radiation Control Program

1100 West 49th Street,
Austin, TX 78756-3183
(512) 834-6688
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/radiation/default.shtm

Radiology Licensing in Texas:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray - ARRT Limited Scope exam, ACRRT exam for Limited Chiropractic, CCI exam for Limited Cardiovascular; can perform skull, cardiovascular, extremities, podiatric, chest, chiropractic, spine categories.
- Non-certified Technician (NCT) - Not allowed to perform dangerous or hazardous radiologic procedures; regulated by Texas Chiropractic, Podiatric, Medical or Nursing Boards.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Limited - Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Medications - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Contrast Media - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Fluoroscopy - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator
.

 


   Utah
Bureau of Health Professions,
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

160 E. 300 S.,
PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84144-6741
(866) 275-3675
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/index.html

Radiology Licensing in Utah:
- Radiography - ARRT exam.
- Nuclear Medicine - NMTCB exam.
- Radiation Therapy - ARRT exam.
- Limited License X-ray (Radiology Practical Techncian) - Can perform core, extremities, chest, skull/sinuses or podiatric categories. A practical technician must pass the "Utah Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography" Examination, administered by the Professional Licensing board. Those wishing to obtain a limited scope license might consider preparing for the exam using the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.
- Bone Densitometry Equipment Operator (BDEO) - ARRT Limited Scope BDEO exam.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Mandatory 16 hours in two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 16 hours in two-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 16 hours in two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 16 hours in two-year period.
- Limited - Mandatory 10 hours in two-year period.
- Mammography - Mandatory 32 hours in two-year period. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venupuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - cannot be performed by Radiology Practical Technician.
- Contrast Media - cannot be performed by Radiology Practical Technician.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform; Limited cannot perform
.

 


   Vermont
Board of Radiologic Technology, Office of the Secretary of State

26 Terrace Street, Drawer #09
Montpelier, VT 05609
(802) 828-2390
http://www.vtprofessionals.org/opr1/radiologists

Radiology Licensing in Vermont:
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Fusion Imaging - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray - Must pass State board approved or ARRT Limited Scope exam; can perform chest and extremities categories
.

Continuing Education Required:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements. 
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Fusion Imaging - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
Limited License - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements. 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - must complete a course of instruction or demonstrate to a qualified expert the appropriate use of fluoroscopic equipment
.

 


   Virgin Islands
Department of Licensing & Consumer Affairs

Administrative Complex
St. John, Virgin Island 00820
340-773-2226

http://www.dlca.gov.vi/index.htm


   Virginia
Commonwealth of Virginia, Department of Health Professions

6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor
Richmond, VA 23230-1717
(804) 367-4400
http://www.dhp.state.va.us/medicine/medicine_occupations.htm

Radiology Licensing in Virginia:
- Radiography - not required for persons who are employed by a licensed hospital; State or ARRT exam.
- Limited License X-ray - State board approved or ARRT Limited Scope exam; Areas of practice include chest/thorax, extremities, skull/sinuses, spine, podiatry; chiropractic; and bone density. ACRRT exam is required for chiropractic; ISCD exam is required for bone densitometry
.

Continuing Education Required:
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
- Limited License- Mandatory 12 hours in two-year period; see regulations for specific CE course requirements.
 

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 


   Washington
Department of Health, Health Professions Section 5
Radiologic Technologist and X-Ray Technician Programs
310 Israel Road SE, Tumwater, WA  98501
PO Box 47866, Olympia, WA  98504-7866
Phone:  (360) 236-4941, FAX:  (360) 236-2406
email: 
susan.gragg@doh.wa.gov
http://www.doh.wa.gov/licensing.htm

Radiology Licensing in Washington State:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State exam, graduation from an accredited program or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine - State exam, graduation from an accredited program or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State exam, graduation from an accredited program or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray (Limited Registered X-ray Technicians) - Areas of practice include extremities, pelvis, chest/ribs, spine, skull, abdomen and podiatry exams. To obtain limited licensure, the student must pass the ARRT Limited Scope of Practice examination. The student must also attend an 8 hour HIV/AIDS training course at a local hospital or clinic prior to being granted licensure. Those wishing to obtain a limited scope license might consider preparing for the exam using the Glacier Valley Medical Education Radiology Study Guide.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory 50 hours in a two-year period.
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Nuclear Medicine - Not mandatory.
- Radiation Therapy - Not mandatory.
- Limited License- Not mandatory.

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Contrast Media - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 


   West Virginia
West Virginia Radiologic Technologists Board of Examiners

PO Box 638
Cool Ridge, WV 25825
(877) 609-9869
http://www.wvrtboard.org/

Radiology Licensing in West Virginia:
- Radiologist Assistant - ARRT exam.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocity considered on an individual basis.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT Exam; reciprocity considered on an individual basis.
- Nuclear Medicine - State, NMTCB or ARRT Exam; reciprocity considered on an individual basis.
- Limited License X-ray - can perform podiatry only (Podiatric Medical Assistant ); Amust pass SPMA exam.
- Apprentice license - limited number of renewals.

Continuing Education Required:
- Radiologist Assistant - Mandatory 50 hours in a two-year period.
- Radiography - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Radiation Therapy - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period.
- Nuclear Medicine - Mandatory 24 hours in two-year period
.

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform, but is stated as part of the scope of practice for the R.R.A.
- Medications - Nuclear medicine.
- Contrast Media - After consultation with, and under the supervision of, a physician who is immediately and physically available.
- Fluoroscopy - Performance of non-interpretive fluoroscopic procedures according to institutional policy permitted
.

 


  Wisconsin
Bureau of Health Service Professions, Division of Board Services
Wisconsin Dept. of Regulation and Licensing
P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, WI  53708-8935

http://drl.wi.gov/index.htm

Radiology Licensing in Wisconsin:
- Radiography - The State of Wisconsin passed the Radiographer Licensing Act in February 2010. Wisconsin now requires operators of medical diagnostic x-ray devices to be State licensed in Wisconsin. 
- Technologists 
must have ARRT certification requirements when performing CT or Radiation Therapy.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Radiation Therapy - Not mandatory
.

 


  Wyoming
State of Wyoming Board of Radiologic Technologists Examiners

2020 Carey Ave. Suite 201
Cheyenne, WY 82002
(307) 777-3507
http://plboards.state.wy.us/radiology/index.asp

Radiology Licensing in Wyoming:
- Radiologist Assistant -ARRT exam; no specific provisions for RA practice.
- Radiography - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Nuclear Medicine -State or NMTCB exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Radiation Therapy - State or ARRT exam; reciprocal if original state's standards are equivalent.
- Limited License X-ray- Must complete a State board- approved licensing exam; Areas of practice include skull/sinuses/spine; chest; upper & lower extremities; pectoral girdle excluding pelvis; podiatric; bone densitometry categories.
- Special License for students if hardship or emergency conditions exist; good for one year; non renewable.

Continuing Education Requirements:
- Radiologist Assistant - No specific provisions for RA practice.
- Radiography - Not mandatory.
- Nuclear Medicine - Not mandatory.
- Radiation Therapy - Not mandatory.
- Limited License- Not mandatory

Limitations of Practice:
- Venipuncture - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform.
- Medications - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Contrast Media - cannot be performed by Limited X-ray Machine Operator.
- Fluoroscopy - Nothing is written in statute that states an R.T. can or cannot perform
.

 



   Canada
Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT)

10th Floor, 85 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA K1P 6A4
613-234-0012 or toll free in Canada
800-463-9729, Fax: 613-234-1097